Leadership team

Our Leadership

Educationally independent and free to follow the best educational practices internationally.

BSB’s Leadership Team works closely with a Board of Trustees and a Board of Governors. These boards are a diverse and representative group, comprising parents, staff members, distinguished UK and Belgian citizens and members of other international communities. All have a relevant background or experience in the professional or business world and they have a vital role in BSB’s governance.

Their task is a complex and challenging one; act as a ‘critical friend’, they help us to set our vision and ensure that the decisions we take, from our investments in infrastructure to our safeguarding processes, uphold our ambitious ideals. BSB was founded on not for profit principles, and so any excess proceeds from fees are reinvested back into the school, our staff, resources and facilities in order to further enhance students’ school experience.

Melanie Warnes Principal

Melanie joined BSB as Principal in 2016. She brings a high level of leadership expertise and experience to the role, honed during her time as a UK National Leader of Education, a secondment to PricewaterhouseCooper. She has been a school leader for over 20 years and more recently as CEO of a group of seven schools. She also has extensive international experience in teacher training and development.

It’s the ‘hearts and minds’ aspect of working in education that really excites Melanie, including unpicking the culture of successful workplaces and organisations, establishing a value-centred approach to school leadership, and exploring the power of working in a truly collaborative manner.

Neil Ringrose Vice Principal & Head of Primary School

Neil joined BSB as Vice-Principal and Head of Primary in August 2017. He has considerable classroom and leadership expertise developed over 24 years in the UK and in international contexts. Before joining BSB, Neil held the role of Vice-Principal in a large international school in Hong Kong and then as a Headteacher of a primary school in the UK.

After visiting BSB for an interview, Neil says he knew “instantly” that this was the school for him and his family. A proud Early Years specialist underneath the suit, he counts the time he spends engaging directly with children as the best part of his day.

John Knight Vice Principal & Head of Secondary School

John has been at BSB since 2006 and, prior to taking on the position of Head of Secondary, has been the International Baccalaureate (IB) Coordinator and Deputy Head in the school. He has a degree in Mathematics and Education from Exeter University, the National Professional Qualification for Headship (NPQH) and a Masters in Educational Leadership (MEd), and is currently working towards his Doctorate in Education with the University of Reading.

John loves seeing how children at BSB settle, find new friends and quickly get stuck into all aspects of school life; an approach he models himself as a member of the school’s Karate Club and a keen chess player.

Board of Governors

Point of contact: Clerk to the Board

Mr Ian Backhouse

Chair, Board of the Association Former General Manager, Air Products Belgium

Ms Melanie Warnes


Mr Neil Chisholm

Chair, Staff Association (Music Teacher Secondary School)

Mr Charlie O’Brien

Vice Chair, Families of BSB

Ms Donna Fidler

Former School Director Step by Step School for Children with Autism

Mr Maurits Wesseling

Chair, Families of BSB

Mr Simon Hardern

Head of Partnership and Engagement (Americas), the United Kingdom Hydrographic Office

Ms Erica Lutes

Executive Director of the Commission for Educational Exchange US, BE & LU

Ms Sirena Patel

Vice Chair, Staff Association

Mr John Milne

Founder & Director Constellation Group

Mr John Knight

Vice Principal and Head of Secondary School

Mr Neil Ringrose

Vice Principal and Head of Primary School

Mr Andrew Stockman

Vice Chair, Board of Governors Managing Director/President EVAPCO Europe

Mr Bhev Chandrasena

CFO – Eurocontrol

Ms Susanna Di Feliciantonio

Head of European Policy at ICAEW

Board of Trustees


Mr Ian BACKHOUSE: Chair, Board of Trustees and Board of Governors

Mr Peter AKERS: Former Business Change Director, Monsanto Europe

Dr Rachel ARON: Former British Ambassador to Belgium

Mr John BAXTER: Educational Consultant; Former Head Master, Wells Cathedral School

Mr Anthony BECK, OBE: Former Managing Director, ICI Mid-Europe

Mr Benoit DUMONT: Chairman of the Board JPMorgan Suisse SA, Director and member of Audit Committee of Edmond de Rothschild Holding SA and EquatexAG

Dr Guido GRYSEELS: Director, Royal Museum for Central Africa, Tervuren

Mr Michael JEANS, MBE: Independent Management Consultant

Mr Neil MORISETTI:  Vice Dean (Public Policy), Faculty Engineering Sciences at University College London

Mr Peter PANTLIN: Former Managing Director, Jenner Renewables

Mr Beni ROOS: Human Resources Consultant; Former Executive Vice President HR, INBEV

Dr Kim SCHILDKAMP: Full Professor at University of Twente

H.E. Mr Martin SHEARMAN CVO: British Ambassador to Belgium

Mrs Catherine STEWART: Senior Advisor, Interel European Affairs Belgium

Mr Glenn Vaughan: Advisor, British Chamber of Commerce  EU & Belgium

Ms Lowri Evans: DG GROW, Directorate-General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs, European Commission


Back to Top